Pesticide licence in Oregon: categories, exam and renewal
What the Oregon Department of Agriculture says about the commercial pesticide applicator and operator licenses, the Ornamental and Turf herbicide and insecticide/fungicide exams, the US$58 exam fee, 40 credit hours over five years and reciprocity with Idaho and Washington.
Checked against the sources at the bottom of this page on October 8, 2026. Rules, fees and pay change: the source has the last word.
This page reports what the official source says. It is not legal advice: ask the office named here. The source is the Oregon Department of Agriculture Pesticides Program, which licenses applicators, businesses, consultants and dealers. The parent page, pesticide licences by country, has the national background.
At a glance
| Item | What the department says |
|---|---|
| Agency | Oregon Department of Agriculture, Pesticides Program |
| Applicator licence | Commercial Pesticide Applicator, employed by a licensed Commercial Pesticide Operator |
| Business licence | Commercial Pesticide Operator; no exam; proof of insurance required |
| Categories for trees and turf | Ornamental and Turf: Herbicide; Ornamental and Turf: Insecticide/Fungicide; Forest is a separate category |
| Exam | Laws and Safety plus at least one category exam; closed book, computer based, multiple choice, 70% to pass, US$58 per attempt |
| Recertification | 40 credit hours by the end of a five-year certification period, at most 15 hours counted per year |
| Trainee licences | Pesticide Apprentice (Laws and Safety exam) and Immediately Supervised Trainee (no exam) |
| Reciprocity | Idaho, Washington and the US Bureau of Land Management only |
When a licence is needed
The department's license requirements page says a license is needed before applying or supervising the application of any pesticide on someone else's property, public or private, except for very limited landscape maintenance work. That exception applies only if the pesticide use is not stated in advertisements or contracts, the work is on small residential lawns or gardens, no restricted use products are used, no fuel or electric-powered sprayers or spreaders are used, and the site is not a school campus. The page also says a license is needed to own or operate a business that advertises pesticide application services. Applying general use pesticides to property owned or leased by the applicator or the applicator's employer does not need a license, except on a school campus.
Licence types
On the same page the department lists the Commercial Pesticide Applicator license, which allows applying or supervising any pesticide on someone else's property and requires employment by a licensed Commercial Pesticide Operator. Work is limited to the categories on the license. The Commercial Pesticide Operator license is for the business. It has no exam. Applicants provide a certificate of insurance or a copy of the policy, and the page does not state a coverage amount. A corporation or LLC needs at least one employee licensed as a commercial applicator, and a sole proprietor or partnership needs the owner or a partner to hold one. The Pesticide Apprentice license needs the Laws and Safety exam, and the supervising applicator must be reachable by phone or radio but need not be on site. The Immediately Supervised Trainee license needs no exam, and the supervisor must be on site and reachable at the point of use within five minutes. Neither trainee can buy restricted use pesticides.
Categories and study material
The department's exams and study materials page splits the tree and turf category in two. Ornamental and Turf: Herbicide covers pesticides in the establishment and maintenance of ornamental plants and turf, including vertebrate pest control. Ornamental and Turf: Insecticide/Fungicide covers insecticides and fungicides on the same sites. The page says neither includes Christmas tree plantations, commercial nurseries, sod farms or forests. The Forest category covers forest crops and forestry lands, again excluding Christmas tree plantations and commercial nurseries. Required study material for the Laws and Safety exam is the Oregon Addendum and the National Core Manual. The page says all exams are multiple choice with a pass mark of 70% or higher, and that pre-licensing courses are not required.
Exam booking and fee
The department's pesticide exams page says Oregon contracts with Metro Institute to schedule every pesticide exam, at testing centers that are often community colleges. The fee is US$58 per exam per attempt, paid by credit card, and the department cannot schedule or change an exam. Exams are closed book and computer based, in two-hour blocks by default. Government photo identification is needed, and food, notes and phones are not allowed. After a pass, the department emails a license application. License fees are separate from exam fees, and the fees page says applications stay open for 60 calendar days. The fee amounts themselves are not in the text of that page as read.
Recertification
The department's renewal and recertification page says public, commercial and consultant licensees need 40 credit hours by the end of the five-year certification period, with at most 15 hours counted in a year. Apprentices need 8 hours each licensing period. An applicant who earns too few credits has to retake and pass the required exams.
Reciprocity
The department's reciprocal licensing page says that only licenses and categories from Idaho, Washington and the US Bureau of Land Management are considered, plus aerial applicators from any state case by case. The applicant must have been examined in the issuing state, the license must be current, and the department compares exam equivalency. It maps Idaho's Ornamental and Turf herbicide and insecticide/fungicide categories to the Oregon ones for exams passed on or before June 26, 2024, and BLM applicants must still pass the Oregon Laws and Safety exam.
Sources
- Oregon Department of Agriculture, Pesticide, fertilizer and PARC programs, read October 8, 2026
- Oregon Department of Agriculture, Pesticide license requirements, read October 8, 2026
- Oregon Department of Agriculture, Exams and study materials, read October 8, 2026
- Oregon Department of Agriculture, Pesticide exams, read October 8, 2026
- Oregon Department of Agriculture, Pesticide licensing fees, read October 8, 2026
- Oregon Department of Agriculture, License renewal and recertification, read October 8, 2026
- Oregon Department of Agriculture, Reciprocal licensing, read October 8, 2026