Pesticide licence in South Dakota: categories, exam and renewal
What the South Dakota Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources says about the commercial pesticide applicator license, category 4 for ornamental and turf work, the core exam plus category exams, the US$35 fee, two year renewal and reciprocity with six neighboring states.
Checked against the sources at the bottom of this page on October 8, 2026. Rules, fees and pay change: the source has the last word.
This page reports what the official source says. It is not legal advice: ask the office named here. The source is the South Dakota Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources (DANR), which says it trains, certifies and licenses pesticide applicators under state law chapter 38-21 and administrative rules chapter 12:56. The parent page, pesticide licences by country, has the national background.
At a glance
| Item | What the department says |
|---|---|
| Agency | South Dakota Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Division of Agriculture and Environmental Services |
| Credential for work for hire | Commercial pesticide applicator license, which needs current commercial certification categories first |
| Category for trees and turf | Category 4, Ornamental and Turf pest control; the core category G, General, is also required |
| Exam | Core exam plus a category exam for each type of application; taken by appointment at county and regional testing sites |
| License fee | US$35 for the commercial applicator license; US$75 for a pesticide dealer license |
| Renewal | Certification and license valid two years; recertify and renew by the last day of February in the year of expiration |
| Insurance or bond | Not stated on the pages read |
| Reciprocity | For applicators tested in and licensed by Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota or Wyoming |
Who needs the commercial license
The department's applicators and dealers page says a commercial pesticide applicator license is required for anyone who applies pesticides for hire or applies them as a government employee during work duties. It lists a person who is in the business of applying pesticides to the lands of another, advertises as being in that business, or otherwise acts as a commercial applicator. The page adds that the department does not allow supervisory applications. Each person making an application must have their own applicator license.
Category 4 for trees and turf
The department's commercial certification categories document, current as of September 1, 2024, describes category 4, Ornamental and Turf pest control. It covers pesticide use on mowed, maintained turf such as athletic fields, cemeteries, golf courses, lawns and parks, and on the trees, shrubs and flowers within those turf areas. It also covers plants grown in greenhouses and plant nurseries. Category 3, Forest pest control, covers larger tracts such as forests and forest nurseries, and the document says passing it does not include protecting ornamental trees. Category 7, Right-of-Way pest control, covers parking lots and rights of way such as roads, power lines, pipelines and railway lines. Category 17 covers aerial application, and the document says drone operators must hold a valid FAA license. Categories 10 and 11 were repealed in 2023.
Exam and testing sites
Every tester takes the commercial category G, General, core exam plus every other category exam that fits the applications planned. The department points to the national pesticide applicator certification core manual as a study resource. Exams are by appointment, and the department's testing sites page lists county and regional sites with phone numbers and street addresses. The exam fee is not stated on the pages read.
License fee and renewal
Once certified, an applicator can apply for and pay for the license. The department states a fee of US$35 for a commercial pesticide applicator license, paid online or by mailed check with the license application form. Certification and license are both valid for two years and must be renewed by the last day of February in the year of expiration. For recertification the page lists several in-person classes and an online course offered each year, plus approved classes outside South Dakota. The credit count is not stated on the page read. A pesticide dealer license costs US$75 and needs a dealer certification exam.
Reciprocity
The department's reciprocity instructions, updated October 2022, apply to an applicator who tested in and holds a current commercial license from Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota or Wyoming. The request needs a completed South Dakota application, a copy of the current license and a color copy of a government photo ID. The department contacts the other state to check the applicant tested there and is in good standing, and says this can take up to 14 days. After the categories are copied over, instructions for paying the US$35 license fee follow. The document adds that a paid license is valid only while the South Dakota certification categories are current.
Sources
- South Dakota Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Pesticide Applicators and Dealers, read October 8, 2026
- South Dakota Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Commercial Certification Categories (PDF), read October 8, 2026
- South Dakota Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Process for Requesting Reciprocity (PDF), read October 8, 2026
- South Dakota Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Applicator Testing Sites, read October 8, 2026